subcommanderblog.wordpress.com

Subcommander Development Blog

No Mac & random IDE comments..

with 4 comments

I’m without my  MBP (MacBook Pro) now for two weeks (see my last post). I’m currently using my old and slow PB (PowerBook). It’s good enough for email and the web (allthough Firefox sometimes takes a pause…) but I didn’t update the development enviroment for Subcommander.

I do most Subcommander development (about 70%) on Windows XP using Visual Studio 2008 (Express Edition) running inside VMware Fusion on my MBP. One can say that XP is just a dongle to run Visual Studio ;-). I don’t use XP for anything else.

The other 30% I spent on MacOSX using XCode. At first only to run the configure created makefile from XCode. It worked but it didn’t work very good. You loose some functionality without a real XCode project.

For example, you could NOT  even jump to compile errors. XCode didn’t recognize the gcc error output and I had to navigate myself to the error location. Buahhh. Very annoying. Another weak spot is code completion. Just a guess here, but it looks like that XCode simply does some kind of find in file text matching.

I created a real XCode project for Subcommander a while ago and this works a lot better. Anyway, XCode is still a somewhat strange IDE.

I also tried Eclipse on MacOSX with CDT 3/4 a while back. I didn’t like it very much. Biggest problem was that debugging didn’t really work. Most of the time communication with gdb stopped after a few lines or it didn’t start at all.

Surprisingly it had the best autocompletion I had seen so far. Dead slow but very reliable. I found that really surprising. CDT can parse C++ better than Visual Studio?? Oh my :-(

Apart from the works, works not autocompletion in Visual Studio I still prefer it for C++ development.

I hope I will get my MBP back soon :-)

Written by hauner

Sunday, 15 March, 2009 at 17:28

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you tried Qt Creator?

    Ben

    Wednesday, 8 July, 2009 at 17:18

    • Yes, I have played with it. It looks quite promising :)

      hauner

      Friday, 10 July, 2009 at 23:10

  2. You are right, VS has a few other weak spots. I’m so used to NOT using the class browser that I completely forgot about it. ;-)

    hauner

    Tuesday, 17 March, 2009 at 23:43

  3. VisualStudio is nothing special. That’s why WholeTomato could jump into the large gap with their great VisualAssist addon. But both are a bit strange and intransparent in their cooperation, often also slow, very slow, especially if you don’t have a lot of RAM. VisualStudio can block the entire machine for ten minutes just doing “Updating Intellisense …” I guess they also do things in parallel (this means two times). The VisualStudio class browsers are indeed unusable and the integrated help system is just bullshit, a dump of waste.

    I never got familiar with Eclipse (CDT) for several reasons. But the concepts are interesting.

    I still use Emacs, also for bigger projects.

    T.M.

    Monday, 16 March, 2009 at 11:31


Leave a Reply

