subcommanderblog.wordpress.com

Subcommander Development Blog

Subcommander Status

with 3 comments

Hi,

just wanted to let you know that I’m still working on Subcommander :-)

Subcommander

I’m still rewriting the working copy (custom implementation of QAbstractItemModel) code using test driven development. A couple of days ago I modified the gui to use the new code for the first time. And it worked nearly out of the box :-) Because of the test coverage caused by using tdd it will be a lot easier to maintain and extend in the future.

The next step is to add the working copy filtering code to my own custom QAbstractProxyModel. The Beta 5 code is based on QSortFilterProxyModel and I was unable to get it to do what I want. The way QSortFilterProxyModel handles the QModelIndex stuff  simply does not fit with my code. Debugging it was just crazy.

When that’s finished (will be beta 6) I will be able to work more on features and visible improvements instead of internal design stuff.

Hudson

What else? I have set up a (private) Hudson build of the Subcommander /trunk. It is running subcommanders google mock based test suite, checking coverage with gcovr (I had to tweak it a little bit) and is running a code analysis using cppcheck. Cool ;-)

I’m now looking at cukebins to see if it is possible to create cucumber based acceptance tests for subcommander.

Subversion mingw port

I’m also working on a port of subversion to mingw. My final goal is to build Subcommander on Windows with mingw. I have a patch to build subversion on mingw but there are still some failing tests.

Since I didn’t work on it for a couple of month I’m now trying to upgrade the patch to subversion trunk….

Progress is slow but steady…  maybe I’m trying to do too much ;-)

Written by hauner

Sunday, 20 June, 2010 at 17:34

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a minor, but crucial feature suggestion to incorporate in a next release. Unless I’m missing something, there is no way to refresh a working copy’s view of the native file-system. When the file-system is modified, Subcommander does not display changes and I see no way to tell it to update it’s view. Please include this soon. It’s a show stopper for me, meaning I’m back to TortoiseSVN :(

    Greg

    Thursday, 23 September, 2010 at 18:36

    • You can select a folder in the working copy view and then use the refresh button (the two round arrows, forth button from right in the tool bar) to reload the status.

      hauner

      Thursday, 23 September, 2010 at 19:08

  2. Looking forward to some updates. Thanks!

    Greg

    Tuesday, 21 September, 2010 at 23:11


Leave a Reply

